Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Middle-Grade Horror/Humor

SCARY STORIES FOR YOUNG FOXES
by Christian McKay Heidicker, illustrated by Junyi Wu
Spring 2019 – Henry Holt BYR/Macmillan US

SCARY STORIES FOR YOUNG FOXES is a wholly original story that introduces the horror genre to young readers. The book has a classic feel in the vein of Watership Down and The Incredible Journey, and today’s fans of The One and Only Ivan will be drawn to Christian’s courageous kits.

Though framed as a series of scary stories, this is in fact a single narrative about two young foxes, Uly and Mia, forced to venture out into an unforgiving wilderness too soon. 

From a zombie-like rabies outbreak to a white fox “haunting,” each section of SCARY STORIES accesses the darker (and more hopeful) parts of childhood.

Christian McKay Heidicker is the author of two young adult books, Cure for the Common Universe and the forthcoming Throw Your Arms Across Your Eyes and Scream. He currently lives in Salt Lake City, Utah.

http://junyiwu.tumblr.com/