Slayer (series)

YA Supernatural

SLAYER (series)
by Kiersten White
Simon & Schuster (US)

From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes a brand-new series set in the world of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, that introduces a new Slayer as she grapples with the responsibility of managing her incredible powers that she’s just beginning to understand. With completely new cast of characters, this spin-off has a fresh and twisty plot, and a fierce but conflicted protagonist.
#1 SLAYER (Spring 2019)
Nina is used to living life on the sidelines. Ever since a mysterious house fire left her lungs severely damaged, she’s been much better suited to watching than joining. Which is okay, since she grew up on the grounds of the Watcher’s Academy, a boarding school where teens train as guides for Slayers—girls gifted with supernatural strength to fight the forces of darkness. 

Vampires, demons, gods? Everyday stuff for the child of two Watchers. Life is normal. Until the morning Nina wakes up changed forever. 

Thanks to Buffy, the famous (and infamous) Slayer that Nina’s father died protecting, Nina is now the newest Slayer. The Chosen One. And thanks to the destruction of magic, Nina is the last Slayer ever. Period. 

Reveling in her newfound power, Nina hones her skills under a new Watcher-in-training, Leo. And when bodies begin turning up, she and her friends investigate their deaths. The victims all have one thing in common: they reached out to the Watchers right before someone—or something—killed them. No one on the inside can be trusted, and Nina’s afraid someone she loves might be next.
Kiersten White is the New York Times bestselling author of many books for teens and young readers, including And I Darken, Now I Rise, Bright We Burn, The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein, and Slayer. She lives with her family near the ocean in San Diego, where she perpetually lurks in the shadows. Visit Kiersten online at and follow @KierstenWhite on Twitter.