Lucky Caller

LUCKY CALLER
by Emma Mills
January 2020 – Henry Holt / Macmillan (US)

A funny, heartfelt contemporary young adult novel about four teens who start a radio show—and decide to do a mystery guest segment that spirals out of control.

When four friends take a radio broadcasting class in the last semester of senior year, they expect it to be a walk in the park. Instead, it’s a complete disaster.

To salvage their show, they promise a big interview with a mystery “celebrity.” Each week, they tease a new fact about their guest, not realizing their information happens to coincide with the identity of not only an obscure 90’s cult rocker, but also a current member of a popular boyband. What starts as an idea to spike listenership quickly spirals out of control as both rabid fandoms descend.

With the warmth, hilarity, intimate friendships, and heart-stopping romances she brings to all her books, Emma Mills crafts a story about believing in yourself and trusting in human connection. Fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson are sure to fall in love.

Emma Mills is the author of First & Then, This Adventure Ends, and Foolish Hearts. She lives in Indianapolis, where she is currently pursuing a PhD in cell biology.